Meet Our Board and Team

Here at the Community Foundation we are a team of people who love where we live and love what we do. We give back to Kalamazoo County by investing in people and programs that will help create a community where every person can reach full potential.

Our board of trustees provides guidance for our grantmaking and community leadership. Our trustees donate their time, energy and expertise to help us identify opportunities for community impact and address community needs.

Our staff works with donors, nonprofits and community members to make a meaningful impact on Kalamazoo County. It includes skilled professionals in community investment, donor relations, finance, administration, scholarship, human resources and marketing communications.

Board of Trustees

Si Johnson

Frank Sardone
Vice Chairperson

Jim Escamilla
Dr. Jorge Gonzalez

Mary Harper

Barbara James

Amy Upjohn

Hon. Carolyn Williams

Leadership and Governance


Sharon Brown
Executive Assistant to the President/CEO
269.585.7269 /
Carrie Pickett-Erway
269.585.7257 / 

Community Investment

Candice Atwater  
Community Investment Coordinator
269.585.7254 /

Sandy Barry-Loken  
Community Investment Officer
269.585.7263 /

Kari Benjamin Hamann  
Community Investment Coordinator
269.585.7242 /

David Feaster  
Community Investment Manager
269.585.7266 /

Martha Gonzalez-Cortes
Vice President, Community Investment
269.585.7251 /

Lanna Lewis  
Community Investment Officer / Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation (TRHT)
269.585.7268 /
Elena Mireles-Hill  
Community Investment Officer
269.585.7237 /

Kururama Sánchez

Community Investment Manager
269.585.7256 /

Donor Relations

Raven Britt
Development Officer
269.585.7273 / 

Coby Chalmers
Donor Relations Officer
269.585.7249 /

Joanna Donnelly Dales
Vice President, Donor Relations
269.585.7260 / / @jdonnellydales

Ann Fergemann  
Philanthropic Advisor
269.585.7238 /

Julie Loncharte
Donor Relations Officer
269.585.7270 /

Valerie Mitchell  
Donor Relations Assistant
269.585.7253 /

Adrienne Neubert
Donor Relations Coordinator
269.585.7247 /

Finance and Administration

Sue Bos
Performance Excellence Manager
269.585.7241 /

Kelly Campbell  
Finance Manager
269.585.7259 / 

Stephanie Carrier
Human Resources/Finance Coordinator
269.585.7250 /

Stacey Charron-Milnikel
Receptionist/Office Assistant
259.381.4416 / 

Laura Galaviz
Finance Coordinator, Grantmaking 
269.585.7239 /

Selena Jepkema
Database Manager
269.585.7261 / / @sjepkema

Karen Racette
269.585.7246 /

Susan Springgate
Vice President, Finance and Administration
269.585.7240 /

Breanne Stokes
Receptionist/Office Assistant
269.381.4416 /

Human Resources / Facilities

Kelley Kellis
Director of Human Resources and Facilities
269.585.7264 /

Marketing Communications

Sarah Lee
Director of Marketing Communications
269.381.4416 /


Jordan Duckens
Communications Officer
269.585.7262 /

Tom Vance
Communications Officer
269.585.7243 /


Meredith Bradford
Scholarship Coordinator
269.381.4416 /

Nancy Timmons
Scholarship Manager
269.585.7258 /

Get Our News