photo of james escamillaJames Escamilla (pictured above) has been appointed to the board of trustees of the Kalamazoo Community Foundation. The Honorable Carolyn Williams and Frank Sardone were reappointed to the board.

Escamilla, president/CEO of Byce & Associates Inc., a design engineering/architecture firm in Kalamazoo, joins the board this month for a term ending in 2016. Escamilla is a mechanical engineer from Michigan Technological University (1981), with work experience at WBDC in Grand Rapids and as vice president of Engineering at Tower Pinkster. He has expertise in overall system evaluation and conceptual design, including work with clients specializing in educational, healthcare, industrial, correctional, commercial and institutional facilities.

Escamilla’s community involvement includes service on Southwest Michigan First-Council of 100, Western Michigan University Lee Honors College Board of Advisors, and as chair of the Edison Mainstreet Association. Previous service includes board president of New Latino Visions and board member of MRC Industries.

"I'm looking forward to leveraging my technical experience and local community involvement to the benefit of the Community Foundation board." says Escamilla. "It’s a wonderful group of people who show their dedication to the Kalamazoo area with this work and I’m grateful for the opportunity to serve."

According to Chairperson Barbara James, "We are excited to have Jim join our board. Jim’s knowledge of the community-at-large and the business community specifically will provide additional strength to our board."

Hon. Carolyn Williams, retired judge of the Kalamazoo County Probate Court, and Frank Sardone, president and CEO of Bronson Healthcare Group, were reappointed to terms beginning this month that go through 2017. Other trustees include Barbara James, member, James & Springgate, PLC; Si Johnson, retired executive from Stryker Corporation; Ronda Stryker, community leader; and Dr. Eileen Wilson-Oyelaran, president of Kalamazoo College.

Board officers for 2013 are Barbara James as chairperson and Si Johnson as vice chairperson. Non-trustee members include Carrie Pickett-Erway, president/CEO of the Community Foundation, as secretary-treasurer and Sue Bos, executive assistant to the president/CEO, as recording secretary.