Scholarship Criteria

Kalamazoo County resident who is a high school graduating senior or graduate of a high school or alternative school within Kalamazoo County, or graduate of a GED program within Kalamazoo County; enrolled full-time in a technology or vocational school or two-year program; minimum 2.0 GPA.

Type of Student

  • Graduating High School Seniors
  • Undergraduate Students
  • Certificate and/or Technical Schools Programs

Award Amount Range


Required to Demonstrate Financial Need



Renewable until certificate/degree completion

Residence Eligibility

Kalamazoo County resident

High School Eligibility

  • Kalamazoo County High School
  • High School outside Kalamazoo County

Scholarship Information

This award was originally established by friends and family of Dr. E. Earl Wright as the E. Earl Wright Community Achievement Award Fund to honor community activist Dr. Wright by naming someone who had contributed to improved quality of life in areas such as education, community service, community management, research and evaluation and problem-solving in Kalamazoo County.

In 2002 the Steering Committee of the E. Earl Wright Community Achievement Award voted to change the fund to a scholarship fund named the E. Earl Wright Scholarship Fund.

This fund will award a scholarship for students enrolled or planning to enroll in a two-year program at a community college or a technology curriculum in a community college, technical, vocational, or trade school.